Owning a vehicle and having a driver’s license comes with some responsibilities. One of them is to maintain the state-mandated auto insurance on your vehicle. It is your responsibility to know what those mandates are before taking a vehicle out onto the road. At Oliver Insurance in Canby, OR our experienced team has been serving the area since 1972. Our goal is to make sure you are in compliance with the law and have the perfect coverage for your needs.
In Oregon, it is not legal to drive a vehicle without auto insurance. You can’t register a vehicle without it. Every driver must cover their vehicle with at least $25,000 in liability for each person in a crash and $50,000 for the total accident. Additionally, there must be $20,000 for property damage. Drivers must also have $15,000 PIP (personal injury protection) and insured motorist at the same minimum and maximum as the bodily injury.
The state of Oregon takes not having the required auto insurance very seriously. Depending on the circumstances that bring your lack of insurance to the attention of the authorities, you could be fined anywhere from the minimum of $130 to more than $5000.
If you live in Oregon and have an auto loan or a lease, you will have additional requirements. You must protect the vehicle you’re driving in the event it gets damaged. This requires you to carry collision and comprehensive coverage. Even if you don’t have a loan or lease, if your vehicle is worth more than a couple of thousand dollars, it is probably a good idea to maintain comprehensive and collision coverage. Living without a vehicle would be a hardship for most people and having the ready money to replace or repair your vehicle may also be difficult.
Contact Oliver Insurance in Canby, OR for your auto insurance needs.